Endeavour Sports High School

Telephone02 9524 0615



About the Program

The aim of the program is to “value add” to the cricket experience gained outside the school environment. To achieve this students experience a wide range of expert tuition in skill acquisition and knowledge in all aspects of the game. This involves practical and theoretical exposure to elements such as cricket history, skill acquisition and revision, game situations on tour and also knockout and round robin competition formats.

Every opportunity will be given to each student to forge their career path from junior representative teams to grade and NSW under age representation.

Students are encouraged to have a passion for and empathy towards all aspects of this wonderful game. They are expected to maintain an acceptable academic standard and behave respectfully at all times. Parents have the chance to regularly speak with mentors and coaches about their child’s academic achievements, behaviour and cricket development.

A number of our recent players have excelled in their HSC including Akash Biradar (96.25) Alex Johnston (91.80) Joel Murphy (91.7) Sam James Nuygen (87) James Drahalavis (86) Robert Henriques (84.95) Andrew McRae (86.51) Mitchell Edwards (85.2), whilst numerous others have gone onto study degrees at University.

Coaching Staff

Tim Laws –Director of Cricket/ Head Coach (Former Endeavour Sports High Student)

  • PDHPE Teacher
  • Level 2 Cricket Coach
  • Former 1st Grade Cricketer (St George & Randwick Petersham)
  • Ex Overseas Country Professional
  • Australian Country Cricket Representative
  • NSW Country Cricket Representative
  • NSW U/17’s & U/19’s Squad Representative
  • NSW All Schools & NSW CHS Schoolboys Representative
  • CHS NSW Schoolboys Player of the Carnival (Steve Rixon Trophy 2002)
  • NSW Academy Batting Coach (2016-17)
  • NSW CHS 1st XI Coach and Selector
  • Current Sydney East Coach (2012, 2014 & 2019 Winners

Paul Van Ryan – Head Mentor / Coach

  • HSIE Teacher
  • Level 1 Cricket Coach
  • Welfare and Support of students (mental, academic, cricket)

James Hawksworth – Coach (Former Endeavour Sports High Student)

  • Level 1 Cricket Coach
  • Current 3rd Grade Captain for Sutherland
  • NSW U/17’s & U/19’s Squad Member
  • NSW CHS Cricket Representative

Bill Johnson – Assistant Coach

  • Level 3 Coach
  • Ex NSW U/17’s Coach
  • Current Sutherland Shire Junior Cricket Coach

Jake Wilson – Senior Bowling Coach

  • Level 2 Coach
  • Current 1st Grade Representative for Sutherland
  • Current St George Slayers Coach
  • Current Sutherland DCC Green Shield Coach
  • Leading 1st Grade Wicket Taker this Decade

Dimitri Magoulias – Assistant Bowling/Fielding Coach

Level 1 Coach

  • Current Grade Representative for Sutherland

Josh Moores – Leg/Spin/Fielding Coach

  • Level 1 Coach
  • Current 1st Grade Representative for St. George

Many specialist coaches are also regularly involved in training sessions, these coaches are 1st grade players from both St George and Sutherland cricket clubs.


During summer TSP Cricket train on both Tuesday and Thursday afternoons at school in the nets area. Seniors train at 7am before school on the same days, particularly when the cricket competitions are in season.

Summer Focus:

  • Skill Acquisition
  • Nets Sessions
  • Game Simulation/ Game Sense
  • Technique Refinement (Bowling Machine)
  • Analysis of Games

Winter Terms 2 & 3 are primarily fitness, technique development and biomechanical analysis training sessions with a diverse range of activities in place. These sessions are conducted on Tuesday and Thursday afternoons.

Winter Focus:

  • Nutrition
  • Match Analysis
  • Goal Setting
  • Tactical Awareness
  • Fitness Training (Pro-Teen Gym, Beach Fitness(Cronulla), Boxing, Sprint Training with Athletics Program)
  • Indoor Cricket Competitions (reaction based/ Emphasis on fielding)
  • Historical Awareness (Historical Assessment, Research Tasks, Bradman Museum, Leadership Days)
  • Video Analysis of Individual Skills (fine tuning techniques)
  • Biomechanical Analysis
  • Scoring Course
  • Umpiring Course
  • Coaching Course

Competitions and Events

Senior players are involved in “The Davidson Shield” – a state wide knockout.
They must first compete in a Sports High Schools standalone competition which consists of one T/20 and one 40 Over match against all four Sports High Schools.

Juniors primarily compete in the Sports Schools Challenge, the Shire Cup. Year 7 and 8 students have trial games against the Sports High Schools and compete in the Super 8’s Competition.


The compulsory fee for TSP cricket is $800 per year. The fee contribute to cover the costs for:

  • TSP Uniform
  • School Administration Fees
  • Coaches outside of school
  • Cricket Equipment
  • Umpiring Fees
  • Ground Fees
  • Bus Hire
  • Team Fees for competitions
  • Minimising Costs of activities at venues outside of school

Outstanding Achievements


Sydney East Representatives:

  • Declan Hart
  • Akash Biradar
  • Jamaine Melchior
  • James Muggeridge

State Representatives: 

  • Luke Hawksworth (NSW CHS 2nd XI and NSW All Schools)

State Titles:

  • Davidson Shield Champions


Sydney East Representatives: 

  • Declan Hart
  • Akash Biradar
  • Jamaine Melchior
  • James Muggeridge

State Representatives

  • Max Robinson
  • Saul Spyrides
  • Jake St John

Australian Representatives:

  • Max Robinson (Australian Institute of Cricket)

State Titles: 

  • Davidson Shield Champions
  • 4th NSW All Schools

Additional Highlights:

Green Shield Selections:

  • Akash Biradar
  • Declan Hart
  • Will Cameron
  • Max Robinson
  • Adam Singleton
  • Sam McCulloch
  • Ethan Simpson
  • Rahid Alam


Sydney East Representatives

  • Akash Biradar ©
  • Adam Singleton
  • Rahid Alam

State Representatives

  • Alex Parthenis
  • Kobey Freer


State Representatives

  • Alex Parthenis
  • Kobey Freer

In the News

Moises Henriques awarded with BAGGY GREEN for Australia

Moises Henriques gains Cricket Australia Contract for 2013/2014 Season

Tim Laws Current ESHS Teacher / Coach Selected in NSW COUNTRY CRICKET TEAM 2012/2013